top of page
  • Writer's pictureDrew Bentham

2024 BTCC TBL Licence Holders Confirmed

BTCC Licence Holders confirmed

The look of the 2024 season is shaping up with the list of TBL licence holders now being confirmed by the BTCC and TOCA. Released 2 weeks later than usual, owing to particular circumstances relating to one team (we assume Team Hard), which resulted in several late movements of some TBLs. Alan Gow, BTCC Chief Executive, said: 

“Given the background of potentially having up to six entries affected within just the last three weeks, the quantity and quality of our 2024 entry further underlines the phenomenal strength and resilience of the BTCC.”

The following is a complete list of the 27 TBLs secured by the teams for the 2024 BTCC season:



Alliance Racing


Excelr8 Motorsport


West Surrey Racing


Speedworks Motorsport


One Motorsport


Power Maxed Racing


Restart Racing


Aiden Moffat Racing


CBM Racing




Individual team announcents are expected over the next few weeks about their driver liine ups, but one notable exception to the list is the absense of Team Hard. After a troubled year in 2023, it seems the team were unable to put a season package together for the coming year. We await an official statement or news release.

The 2024 season will have a somewhat new look with changes being made to Saturday qualifying thanks to the introduction of the new Quick-Six format. Featuring 3 short segments, every qualifying session and race will be available to watch live via ITV Sport. The format, similar to the one successfully used in IndyCar, will be made up of the following:

After Free Practice Two (FP2) the cars will be divided into two groups, finishing positions according to odds and even numbers (one, three, five and so on…) go into one group and (two, four, six and so on…) go into the other group.

Qualifying 1

  • Each of those two groups contest a separate ten-minute session

  • The fastest six cars from each group advance to Q2 ‘Top 12’ 

Qualifying 2 

  • The ‘Top 12’ cars qualify together in a ten-minute session

  • The fastest six cars advance to the Q3 ‘Quick Six’ final qualifying

Qualifying 3

  • The ‘Quick Six’ qualify in a ten-minute session to set the top six grid positions

This new format will see FP2 taking on more importance, with a greater number of qualifying simulations expected due to teams having limited on-track time during each qualifying session. The news has officially been welcomed by teams and drivers. Alan Gow, BTCC Chief Executive, said: 

“We’re always looking to bring further energy to the championship, but it’s also important that the competitive integrity remains. So, I believe our new ‘Quick Six’ format will bring a heightened blend of competitiveness and intensity to BTCC qualifying. As well, it helps the drivers by reducing the amount of cars on track during all three of the qualifying segments. “I’ve long admired the way IndyCar use this system for its road courses – it’s ideal for the BTCC and in keeping with our policy of providing short, sharp and intense action. The pressure will certainly be on the teams and drivers, more than ever before, to quickly ‘nail’ their qualifying laps in each short segment.”

2024 BTCC season shaping up
New Look 2024 for BTCC

Follow us across all socials @tmfpod23 and sign up to the site at the bottom of the page.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page